Cold day, warm bread

Standard

Well, it’s another freezing day here.  Technically, it is well below freezing.  A while ago the thermometer said -6 degrees Fahrenheit (feels like -23).  Lovely.  The pipes in the upstairs bathroom are frozen and, last night, the handle snapped off of our back door.  Thankfully, it is one of two doors in that frame and still shuts from the inside.  Unfortunately, poor Bruce was banging on the door for a couple of minutes while I sat on the couch, snuggled up with the dog in the kitchen, wondering what that banging was.  Oops.

My big accomplishment of the day…did I have one?  Not really, I suppose.  I baked a loaf of millet bread, recipe courtesy of Jennifer Katzinger’s Gluten-Free and Vegan Bread cookbook.  We finished The Minor Adjustment Beauty Salon.  A good read.  As always, at the end of the books, I wanted more.  But, I think that’s true of most of the fans of the series.  May Alexander McCall Smith never die or train an understudy so that we can get our annual fix!  Philip practiced his reading (we love I’m a Frog and We’re In a Book! by Mo Willems) and math (counting by 5’s with LEGO “troops” rescuing “a very important guy” from a mountain cave).  

After extracting myself from warm flannel sheets this morning, I bundled myself up in many layers and took the recycling bins to the curb.  By the time I picked them up in the afternoon, one of them had split a side.  Even the plastic doesn’t want to be out in this!  The horse, meanwhile, is as spirited as ever.  She defies all harsh winds and brazenly faces them.  Thankfully, she is still drinking lots of water, eating plenty of hay and enjoying her twice diurnal servings of grain.  She is getting older and I am always relieved to hear her morning whinny after I shut the back door and walk out onto the porch.

The boys are both asleep and the dog is begging for dinner.  I need to look for jobs since I just found out that my dean was only able to secure 1 class for me this term.  Hardly enough to pay the bills.  At least I was able to find out (on my own) before the semester starts in 2 weeks!  An optimist would say that I am lucky.  Even though I don’t feel that way, I’ll try to view my situation from that perspective.

Here’s hoping you are well, whoever you are…even though I know I am the only one reading this.

 

Leave a comment